The Protagonists and Persons of the Tale


Sat Purush The True Being; the Highest Manifestation of the Absolute God, also called the Highest Father or Positive Power. He is the Lord of Sach Khand, the fifth Inner Plane. The Sat Purush is the One Soul – Master-Soul – from Which all Souls emanated as sparks of this Power.

Other names: Adi Purush, Din Dayal, Shabd Parwani.
The sixteen Shabdas:

2.   Kurma The aspect of the Father holding the lower creation in latency – comparable to a reservoir. As it turns out later, the son Kurma, who is a well-known figure in Indian mythology, commonly depicted in the shape of a tortoise which is roughly the shape of the universe also belongs to him.
3.   Gyan Knowledge in the Highest Sense. This is the 'son' of Sat Purush, Who first came as Achint and later embodied as Sat Sukrit, Maninder, Karunamai and Kabir. 
4.   Vivek Discrimination.
5.   Kal Niranjan Full name of the Negative Power, often shortened to Kal. Niranjan means beyond illusion, and is applied to Kal – time – because he is the creator of illusion. 
6.   Sahaj Effortlessness, fearlessness.
7.   Santosh Contentment.
8.   Surat Attention.
9.   Infinite Happiness
10. Forgiveness
11. Nishkam Selflessness.
12. Jal-Rangi
13. Achint Worrilessness.
14. Love (Prem)
15. Din Dayal The Merciful One; the one who is gracious towards the poor and humble.
16. Patience
17. Yoga (Surat Shabd Yoga) and the Saints  
The sixteen Powers of Sat Purush

1.   Knowledge
2.   Discrimination
3.   Truth
4.   Contentment
5.   Love
6.   Patience
7.   Peace
8.   Mercy
9.   Forgiveness
10. Continence
11. Neh Karma
12. Renunciation
13. Yearning
14. Maintenance of True Religion
15. Pity
16. In His heart He counts everyone as His friend

Adhya Female principle created by Sat Purush. Companion of Kal Niranjan, mother of the three gods Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva. Further names: Adhi-Bhavani, Ashtangi, Bhavani, Chandi Devi, the goddess, Durga, Kali, Maya, Shakti.
Dharam Das Disciple and successor of Kabir. Main dialogue partner of Kabir in the Anurag Sagar. Other names: Har, Kulpati, Chandan Sahu, Niru, Sukrit. (See the subchapter 'The Tale of Dharam Das’ previous Births.')
Gyan The second 'son' / third Shabda of Sat Purush; by order of Sat Purush He came into the world again and again to save the Souls. Other names: Achint, Gyani, Kabir (1398–1518), Karunamai, Maninder, Sat Sukrit, Yoga Santryan, Yogjit, Yog Santayan. As for other names and terms from Indian languages, there are diverse spellings for the names that Kabir bore in the different ages, so for Sat Sukrit there is also: Sat Sukrat; for Maninder also: Muninder, Munindar, Munindra; for Karunamai also: Karunamae, Karunamay, Karunamaya and for Kabir also: Kabeer.
Jogjit Authorised person of Sat Purush.
Kal Niranjan The fourth 'son' / fifth Shabda of Sat Purush; developed and governs the three lower worlds. Other names: Alakh Niranjan, Dharam Rai, Jagannath, Kal, Kal Takshak, Niranjan, Nirankar, Yama, Yamraj, Yam Rai.
Kurma The first 'son' / second Shabda of Sat Purush.
Sahaj The fifth 'son' / sixth Shabda of Sat Purush.