Illustration to
'In the Beginning'

How did Sat Purush create the planes: See the continuous text 'The Birth of Creation' and 'The Manifestation of the sixteen Shabdas' in the subchapter 'In the Beginning' as well as the subsection 'The Manifestation of the sixteen Shabdas' in this illustration below.

Kurma: The first of the sixteen following Shabdas of Sat Purush. (See the subsection 'The names of the sixteen Shabdas' in this illustration below.)

Shesh Nag: A primordial serpent figure, ruler of a clan whose forms are relevant in Indian mythology. On the whole, his role in the Anurag Sagar is minor. Later on he is a mother figure, nourishing the still 'unborn' earth in its embryonic stage. In Egyptian mythology this serpent figure is also known as 'Ouroboros.' It is symbolised as a serpent which bites into its own tail. Adoration of this serpent figure also is part of the Hebrew and Jewish religion and serves inter alia as a symbol for world domination.

Matsya: The first incarnation of Vishnu, in the form of a fish or whale.

Varah: The third incarnation of Vishnu, in the form of a boar.

Three gods: Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva, the three sons of Kal who will play a role later. In the Islamic-Christian and Jewish tradition they correspond to the archangels Mika‘il / Mikaal – Angel of natural phenomenons –, Dschibril – Transmitter of Divine Wisdom – and Israfil – Angel of the Last Judgement.

Sign of Dissolution: The small dissolution – Pralaya – is the dissolution of the physical universe. In the smaller scale of the microcosm it is the dissolution of the physical body, which is the image of creation in small terms. With the grand dissolution – Maha Pralaya – all Inner Planes below Sach Khand are going to be dissolved.

An initiated Soul having really understood the Inner Coherences and practising Truth with determination will rise above the three worlds and achieve liberation. Reaching Sach Khand, she has performed the grand dissolution – in small terms – for herself.

Sadaswat Parwant and Ganesha: Hindu gods.

Mahesh: Another name for Shiva. He is also referred to as Maha Dev or Rudra. In Islamic, Christian and Jewish tradition he is known as archangel Dschibril – also Gabriel. He heralded the nativity of Maria’s son.

Shastras and Puranas: Hindu scriptures, written in Sanskrit.

Vedas – Veda: The best known of all Hindu scriptures. Their origin – they are created by Kal – is an important event in the Anurag Sagar. (See in the subchapter '3. The Creation of the Lower Worlds' the sections 'The three Gods churn the Ocean: The Creation of fourteen Jewels' and 'The first churning of the Ocean' as well as the subsection 'Vedas' in the corresponding illustration.)

Gyani: Knower; Sanskrit Jnani. This has nothing to do with Jnana Yoga – Yoga of intellectual reasoning. For a detailed reading it may be referred to the book 'The Crown of Life – Part I / Chapter III / V. Jnana Yoga,' by Kirpal Singh, 1894–1974.

Gyan means knowledge in the Highest Sense: the esoteric knowledge from Sach Khand.

Souls: As the context shows, the Souls are created by Sat Purush out of Himself.

Four worlds: The Spiritual Creation or Sat Desh which is often divided into four planes: Sat Lok or Sach Khand – the region of Truth –, which is the Highest Manifestation of the Absolute – in Sach Khand there is the Highest manifested and most radiant Light and the Highest manifested Sound; Alakh Lok, the indescribable region, and Agam Lok, the inconceivable region, which are stages in the manifestation of the Absolute; and Anami, the nameless region, which is the Absolute Unmanifested Essence – in Anami there is neither Light nor Sound, neither darkness nor silence.

Desire: The desire 'Hukam' or will cannot be described by words. It baffles all description. The real understanding of the Divine Will comes to the Soul only by direct revelation. Without this will there would be no creation. (See also 'Jap Ji,' edited by Kirpal Singh, 1894–1974.)

His desire is very fragrant: If there is nothing between the Almighty and the Soul – not even a thought – the Soul experiences the intensive fragrance of rose.

A female disciple wrote in a poem:

[…] Rose pervades my being, the fragrance when God real near […].

The Soul’s Journey – Part III,
My Life in Shabd, by A. M.

See also the subsection 'Agar Vasna' in the illustration to 'The Narration of Queen Indra Mati' and the according paragraph of the continuous text in the mentioned subchapter.

The Manifestation of the sixteen Shabdas: Each Shabda represents an aspect of Sat Purush which had to manifest itself separately so that creation could take place.

Kirpal Singh wrote,

Creation as such does not exist per se. The actual and the real is ever the same and is not the subject of change. The unconditioned cannot be conditioned as infinity cannot be finitised. All that is, is Brahman, and there can be nothing apart from the Absolute Unity. It projects itself into varying forms, which are an expression of its power […].

The Crown of Life (First Edition, 1961) –
Part I,
Chapter IV: II. Nature of Creation,
by Kirpal Singh, 1894–1974

As you may see from the above, Kal – Niranjan, fifth Shabda – or time is also one of the sixteen 'sons'.

In this book the names of the Shabdas have mostly been left in Sanskrit as they are also common as proper names in India, whereas the according English translations are not used in this way.

The names of the sixteen Shabdas:

Second ShabdaKurma: The aspect of the Father holding the entire lower creation in latent state in himself just as a reservoir. As it will turn out later, this includes the 'son Kurma' as well, who is a well-known figure in Indian mythology and who is commonly depicted in the shape of a tortoise that, as it had been pointed out, roughly conforms to the shape of the universe.

Third ShabdaGyan: Knowledge in the Highest Sense. This is the 'son' of Sat Purush, Who will later embody as Sat Sukrit, Maninder, Karunamai and Kabir.

Fourth ShabdaVivek: Discrimination, reasoning powers.

Fifth ShabdaKal Niranjan: Full name of the Negative Power, often shortened to Kal. (See the subsection 'Kal' in the illustration to 'Indications of a Lover.') Niranjan means 'beyond illusion,' and is applied to Kal – time – because he is the creator of illusion.

Sixth ShabdaSahaj: Effortlessness, fearlessness.

Seventh ShabdaSantosh: Contentment.

Eighth ShabdaSurat: Attention.

Ninth ShabdaInfinite Happiness.

Tenth ShabdaForgiveness.

Eleventh ShabdaNishkam: Selflessness.

Twelvth ShabdaJal-Rangi.

Thirteenth ShabdaAchint: Worrilessness.

Fourteenth Shabda – Prem: Love.

Fifteenth ShabdaDin Dayal: The merciful one; the one who is gracious towards the poor and humble.

Sixteenth Shabda
Persistence, patience, forbearance.

Seventeenth Shabda Yoga* and the Saints.

* Yoga means reconnection, religio, becoming One with the origin. The original and only True Yoga is the Surat Shabd Yoga (Surat = attention, Shabd = Sound Current, Yoga = union, communion), also called Sanatan. This is meant here and so decreeded by the Almighty.

[…] the Path that is the most ancient – Sanatan – and is coeval with creation itself, and the most natural – Sahaj.

It is the Path laid down by the Creator Himself and is not man-made. […]

Spirituality / What it is (First Edition, 1959) –
IV. Spirituality: Its Need,
by Kirpal Singh, 1894–1974

Most glorious part: Although Kal became froward, his original beauty is not completely destroyed; it makes his claim to be Sat Purush more credible and his temptations more effective.

World: All worlds that have been created by then.

Even the sun and the moon: Kal – the 'creator' of the physical sun and the physical moon – was created out of the most glorious part of Sat Purush. (See the continuous text 'The Manifestation of the sixteen Shabdas' in the subchapter 'In the Beginning' and the subsection 'Most glorious part' in this illustration above.)