To inculcate in man:

  1. The true values of life – meaning thereby the finitude of the ever-changing phenomena of the outer world and the mind and the immortality of the Soul, which when linked with the Oversoul, can have perfect bliss. With proper evaluation of all things, one learns –

    The life is more than meat and the body is more than raiment.

St Luke 12:15

What is a man profitted, if he shall gain the whole world and lose his soul?

St Matthew 16:26

  1. The greatness of God and need for humility leading to a pure and honest life, for ethical life is a stepping stone to Spirituality. Christ always put ethical life before everything else as we find in His ten beatitudes in the Gospel of St Matthews – e.g.:

    Blessed are the poor in spirit; for their's is the Kingdom of Heaven. Blessed are the meek: for they shall inherit the Earth. Blessed are the pure in heart; for they shall see God.

St Matthew 5:1-12


Except ye be converted, and become as little children, ye shall not enter into the Kingdom of God.

St Matthew 18:3

Receive with meekness the engrafted Word.

James' Epistles

Before Christ, Moses too, got in midst of thunder and fire, a regular code of morals for the benefit of his followers in the form of Decalogue or Ten Commandments that constitute the core of the Mosaic Law – e.g.:

  • Thou shalt not kill.
  • Thou shalt not commit adultery.
  • Thou shalt not steel.
  • Thou shalt not covet.

Exodus 20:13-17

Similarly, the Jaina ethical code, prescribes for the perfection of the right conduct, the taking of five grat vows:

  1. Ahimsa or non-violence,
  2. Satya or Truth, 
  3. A-steya or non-stealing, 
  4. Brahmcharya or chastity, and 
  5. A-parigrah or abstention from greed.

Again, Buddha (the Enlightened One) enunciated his 'Middle path' (between sensuality and self-torture) called the 'Noble Eight-fold Path of Righteousness': Right views, Right aspirations, Right speech, Right conduct, Right livelihood, Right effort, Right mindfulness and Right contemplation), for those who took to the yellow robe.

Sufis or Muslim Mystics provide, for the Salik on the Sulk from Fana to Baqa (travellers on the Path from death to immortality), for the dislcipline of the mind, the practice of Shari'at (religious injunctions), Tauba (repentence), Faqr (renunciation), Tazkiya-i-Nafs (subjugation of the senses), Twakkal (trust in God), Tawhid (unity), Zikar (spiritual discipline), and Maraqba (meditation); ending in illumination, ecstasy and Beatific Vision.